Discover Corfu’s

SIGHTS

Explore the most beautiful and historic places of Corfu.

Each sight tells a story, each corner an experience.

Spianada

Spianada is the central square of the island. It is the largest square in the Balkans and one of the largest squares in Europe. In front of Kato Plateia the imposing Liston is found. Designed by the French mechanic Mathieu de Lesseps, its construction began in 1807 and it is on the western side of Spianada. One of the prevailing theories about the name “Liston” is that it comes from the word “Lista” (list) which included the names of all the noble ones, the Libro d’oro, who were allowed to enter that particular area. It is the most famous pedestrian street of Corfu, the meeting point for locals and visitors. The imposing mansions that form big arches compose the characteristic image of Liston that today hosts a plethora of cafes and restaurants. The pedestrian area of Liston is the most cosmopolitan spot of the city, which is usually crowded, because many philharmonic orchestras and litanies of St. Spyridon pass through that street. 

Mon Repos

In Paleopolis, where the traces of the ancient town of Corfu (8th century  BC) are  found, the green estate of Mon Repos is located, with an area of ​​258 stremmas of dense vegetation and beautiful gardens, which are sparsely decorated by fragments of the ancient memory. In 1831 the British High Commissioner of the Ionian Islands Frederic Adam built his summer house there as a gift to his Corfiot wife Nina Palatianou according to the plans of the English architect Whitmore.

At this palace, with an unobstructed view of the sea, in 1863 the empress of Austria-Hungary Elisabeth, the legendary princess Sisi, was a guest for a long time, before she built Achilleion, while Philip Mountbatten, the Duke of Edinburgh and husband of the Queen of England, Elisabeth, was born here.  

The elegant and impressive palace is of colonial rhythm with strong Greek and neoclassical features. It is worth noting that until 1991 the visitors were not allowed to enter the property while today the palace of Mon Repos houses the museum of Paleopolis as the Municipality of Corfu has granted it to the Ministry of Culture for 50 years

Paleopolis

Paleopolis is the central nucleus of the ancient town of Corfu which is located in the northern part of Kanoni peninsula. The region was firstly used at the end of 8th century BC, when the Corinthians colonized Corfu until the Christian era. The remains of the paleo-Christian basilica of Jovian, dated back to the 5th century AD, currently dominate the area. Paleopolis reached its zenith during the archaic period and later during the late Hellenistic period with a focus on the market and the port. The same area was partially developed during the Roman years with the construction of a conservatory and the functioning of an extended system of baths. 

Kanoni

Kanoni is located in the southern part of Paleopolis peninsula. It was named Kanoni when the French artillery was established there in 1798. One of the artillery’s cannons still stands at the tourist kiosk. In front of Kanoni is the Monastery of Vlacherna, linked to the mainland by a cement dock and built in the 17th century. From there one can visit Pontikonisi. According to Homer, this was the ship of Ulysses that was petrified by Poseidon during a storm and then the legendary castaway was found in the island of Phaiakes. The spectacular view from Kanoni inspired the German painter Böcklin to draw “The Isle of the Dead”. This location is the most charming part of the island and it has always been the place where all the island’s inhabitants love to promenade.  From Kanoni one can admire the blue color of the sea blending with the colors of the horizon at any time of the day. It is worth mentioning that the view of the plane landing at Ioannis Kapodistrias Airport is breathtaking; Not only locals but also visitors love to enjoy this spectacular view.

Spilia

Spilia is a coastal area and one of the entrances to the old town of Corfu, called Kampielo. Kampielo is the old town of Corfu as well as a mysterious region that seems to present many medieval features. It is included in the UNESCO World Heritage Site and is essentially an atmospheric labyrinth of narrow, winding streets, steep stairways and secretive little squares. Moreover, the entrance of the New Fortress of Corfu is located in Spilia.

Fortress

The first fortress (Fortezza) of Corfu stands on the east side of the Old Town. Today, the gate of the Fortress is just in front of the legendary Liston, in Spianada Square. In order to enter, the visitors must walk through the bridge over the artificial ditch, known as Kontra Fossa, which has turned the Old Fortress into an island. Inside the Old Fortress of Corfu there are imposing buildings which were constructed by the Venetians and the Englishmen to serve their military needs: one Venetian prison (1786), which was expanded from the Englishmen, two English barracks (1850) and a military hospital, which currently houses the music school. Moreover, inside the fortress you can visit the Doric church of St. George (1840).

On the northern side of the Venetian citadel there is Mandraki, a small harbor full of ships and a safe anchorage for fishing boats. On the northern side of the peninsula the beautiful gate Soranza is found, while stone stairs lead to the upper level of the fortress where one can enjoy the panoramic view of Spianada, the Old Town, the bay of Garitsa and the island of Vido. In the outdoor space of the fortress, called Versiada, cultural events are currently hosted.

New Fortress

The New Fortress of Corfu (Fortezza Nuova) lies on the hill of Saint Marcus and was built by the Venetians in the 16th century. According to the history, the Venetian architect Francisco Vitelli had to demolish more than 2.000 buildings in order to find the construction materials needed. It was built on two levels in order to fulfill its double role: the protection of the port and the control of the inland. Its gate is decorated with a magnificent embossed lion of Saint Marcus, which is the emblem that ties the Fortress to Venice eternally. The fortress was attacked many times during the centuries but the culminating point was the bombings during the Second World War.

Its interior is characterized by the underground tunnels, the vaulted passageways, the emplacements and the imposing ramparts. Inside the fortress, there are two English barracks, one of them by the gate and the other one on the second floor, while there is also the temple St. Mary Spileotisa, probably dating back to the 17th century.

Today, apart from the navy installations, the New Fortress hosts photography and painting exhibitions etc., while music concerts and other cultural activities are also held on the fortress premises.